Board of Advisers

Advisers to the Pratichi (India) Trust

Emma Rothschild

Jeremy and Jane Knowles Professor of History, Harvard University.
Director, Center for History and Economics
Fellow, Kings College, Cambridge.


Chairman, M.S. Swaminathan Research Foundation, Chennai, India
Formerly, President, Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs.
Co-chairman, UN Millennium Task Force on Hunger.

Nabaneeta Dev Sen

Poet and novelist, recipient of the Padmashree and Sahitya Academy Award.
Vice President of the Bangiya Sahitya Parishat.
Formerly, Professor of Comparative Literature at Jadavpur University.

Pratik Kanjilal

Publisher of The Little Magazine, the journal of ideas and literature, literary translator and columnist with The Hindustan Times, Time Out and the Free Press Journal, Mumbai. Earlier, he has worked with The Indian Express, Business Standard and The Economic Times. His awards include the Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize (2005) and the New York University Press Prize for Hyperfiction (1998). In 2004, he was Translator in Residence at the University of East Anglia, UK.

Yashodhara Bagchi

Formerly Professor, Department of English, Jadavpur University.
Former Chairperson, West Bengal State Commission for Women.

 Advisers to the Pratichi Institute

Abhijit Chowdhury, secretary, Liver Foundation West Bengal and gastroenterologist, SSKM Hospital.

Achin Chakraborty, faculty, Institute of Development Studies Kolkata

Asokendu Sengupta, faculty, Department of Physics, Bidhannagar College Kolkata.

Debi Chatterjee, Jadavpur University

Dilip Ghosh, officer of the Indian Administrative Service and Director of National Rural Health Mission, West Bengal

Gautam Ghosh, former Chairperson, District Primary School Council, Shantiniketan.

Lalita Pattnaik, UNICEF India, Bhuwaneswar.

Partha Chatterjee, honorary professor, Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Calcutta and professor, Columbia University.

Samar Chakraborty, Primary-school teacher and Teachers’ Union Activist.

Sarasi Mohan Dan, pro Vice Chancellor, Burdwan University.

Saumitra Sengupta, officer of West Bengal Civil Service, Department of Higher Education.

Shaibal Gupta, Asian Development Research Institute, Patna.

Sukanta Chaudhuri, formerly faculty, Department of English, Jadavpur University.